My Freemasonry | Freemason Information and Discussion Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Masonic Networking, Right or Wrong to do?

curt

Premium Member
We have probably all ran into the guy who wants to be a mason, just to get ahead in life. Im still not sure how that works, because I have never progressed at anything, simply because Im a mason. But anyway, I would like to know what opinions there are out there about Masons helping masons. I really dont see an issue with it, unless we are refusing to help anyone, BUT a mason. If I am someones Brother and need help, then should I be ashamed to ask? Im certain there are many different skills performed by fellow masons, that other masons could make use of. If I am a Doctor and a Bro. Mason needs care, maybe I could at least assist him in finding it. If I am a carpenter, or any other trade, perhaps I could at least direct my Brother to a place where he can find help. Im not saying to do it for free, but just give him a helping hand.

I just feel that at least in my circles, Freemasonry has taken a wrong turn. I would like to see a big change in our attitude and a bigger presence on the street. Are we just a bunch of grumpy old men who come sit in the lodge once a month, to get away from the wife? Or are we men who are of the same fiber that our Founding Fathers were? Too few are taking on too much in our lodges today Brothers. It must change or we risk becoming nothing more than a memory.