My Freemasonry | Freemason Information and Discussion Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How do you carry your weight and maintain bearing?

MorallyandMoral

Very newbie here; but, deeply researched and thought through. I carry my own weight of enormous moral responsibility initiated through a very VERY deep study of philosophy and Stoicism. I cannot imagine how Marcus Aurelius carried the weight of the Roman Empire, or Epictetus with his lame leg.

Yet, Freemasons carry such enormous weight that I find it incomprehensible.

How do you carry that weight and maintain your bearing, fellow brothers?

Bloke

Premium Member
Without taking anything (much) away from the Original Poster, I note on his profile "Home Lodge:Self-Taught". @MorallyandMoral - that's not how it works.

And seriously, I thought this was going to be a post about being overweight.. we do love out tucker us Freemasons.

You only feel weight when it's too heavy for you. And a load only becomes too heavy for you if you pick it all up at once.
Don't do that.

That's how I carry my "enormous moral responsibility", which, I suspect I perceive something like you do, but I don't pick it all up at once.

And I liked the quote from James from Gita 5:10. I do the same. Rather than go for something Biblical or Masonic, I'll go for this one;

Self-pity
I never saw a wild thing
sorry for itself.
A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough
without ever having felt sorry for itself.

D. H. Lawrence

Winter

Premium Member